1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

The John Mackey Award


Kellen Winslow

Kellen Winslow, now a star with the Cleveland Browns, won the John Mackey Award while playing for the Miami Hurricanes in 2003.

(Eliot J. Schechter/Getty Images)
The John Mackey Award is given each year by the Nassau County Sports Commission to the best tight end in college football. It was first handed out in 2000.

The award is named for John Mackey, considered one of the greatest tight ends of all time. In a ten-year NFL career, Mackey was named All-NFL three times and played in the Pro Bowl five times. He helped the Baltimore Colts win Super Bowl V, catching a 75-yard touchdown pass from the great Johnny Unitas. Mackey played his college ball at Syracuse University.

The winners of the John Mackey Award are listed here:

2009 Aaron Hernandez Florida
2008 Chase Coffman Missouri
2007 Fred Davis USC
2006 Matt Spaeth Minnesota
2005 Marcedes Lewis UCLA
2004 Heath Miller Virginia
2003 Kellen Winslow Miami
2002 Dallas Clark Iowa
2001 Daniel Graham Colorado
2000 Tim Stratton Purdue

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. College Football
  4. History
  5. College Football Awards
  6. The John Mackey Award - Winners of the John Mackey Award for Best Tight End in College Football

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.