1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

The Bear Bryant Coach of the Year Award


Chris Petersen

Boise State's Chris Petersen is the only two-time winner of the Bear Bryant Coach of the Year Award.

(Christian Petersen/Getty Images)
The Bear Bryant Coach of the Year Award, one of several coach-of-the-year awards in college football, has been handed out annually since 1986.

The award is sponsored by the Marathon Oil Corporation, and winners are selected by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association. The awards ceremony benefits the American Heart Association.

The past winners of the Bear Bryant Coach of the Year Award are listed here.

1986: Joe Paterno Penn State
1987: Dick MacPherson Syracuse
1988: Lou Holtz Notre Dame
1989: Bill McCartney Colorado
1990: Bobby Ross Georgia Tech
1991: Don James Washington
1992: Gene Stallings Alabama
1993: Terry Bowden Auburn
1994: Rich Brooks Oregon
1995: Gary Barnett Northwestern
1996: Bruce Snyder Arizona State
1997: Lloyd Carr Michigan
1998: Bill Snyder Kansas State
1999: Frank Beamer Virginia Tech
2000: Bob Stoops Oklahoma
2001: Larry Coker Miami
2002: Jim Tressel Ohio State
2003: Nick Saban LSU
2004: Tommy Tuberville Auburn
2005: Mack Brown Texas
2006: Chris Petersen Boise State
2007: Mark Mangino Kansas
2008: Kyle Whittingham Utah
2009: Chris Petersen Boise State

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. College Football
  4. Coaching Greats
  5. Coaching Awards
  6. The Bear Bryant Award

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.