1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Senior Bowl MVPs


Senior Bowl

The Senior Bowl is held at Ladd Peebles Stadium in Mobile, Alabama.

(Getty Images)
The college football all-star game market is more crowded these days than ever before, but there remains just one game that stands above the rest: The Senior Bowl.

First played in 1950, the Senior Bowl for more than a half century has served as a showcase of America’s top college football talent. Perhaps more importantly, it has provided a mean for that talent to show off in front of National Football League scouts and other executives. Indeed, at the end of the day, the game serves but one purpose: It’s a glorified scouting event.

The game, currently sponsored by Nike (previous sponsors include Under Armour, Food World and Delchamps), is played each in year at Ladd Peebles Stadium in Mobile, Alabama and is televised on the NFL Network. It had previously been played at the Gator Bowl in Jacksonsville, Florida and televised on ESPN.

The Senior Bowl features teams of college stars representing the North and the South. Each team is coached by a staff made up completely of NFL coaches and assistants, and because of this, the young players benefit not only from playing in the game—and getting the exposure that the game provides—but also from a week spent working and learning under NFL-caliber coaches.

The NFL coaches (and their teams) benefit, meanwhile, from a week spent evaluating players that they could eventually add to their rosters. It is, in a sense, a combine before the combine.

Though the actual results of the game are mostly irrelevant—it’s an exhibition, after all—there is some cachet attached to the idea of being the game’s most valuable player, and so it’s no surprise that the game hands out this formal honor after each season’s game. Listed here, then, is every player that has won the Senior Bowl MVP during the game’s 62 years of existence. In some cases, co-MVPs were named.

1950: Travis Tidwell, Auburn
1951: Bucky Curtis, Vanderbilt
1952: Al Dorow, Michigan State
1953: Harry Agganis, Boston University
1954: Gene Filipski, Villanova
1955: Bobby Freeman, Auburn
1956: Don Goss, SMU
1957: Don Bosseler, Miami (FL
) 1958: Jim Taylor, LSU
1959: Theron Sapp/Norm Odyniec, Georgia/Notre Dame
1960: Jacky Lee, Cincinnati
1961: Dick Norman, Stanford
1962: Earl Gros/Ronnie Bull LSU/Baylor
1963: Glynn Griffing, Ole Miss
1964: Ode Burrell, Mississippi State
1965: Steve DeLong, Tennessee
1966: Howard Twilley, Tulsa
1967: Bubba Smith, Michigan State
1968: Kim Hammond, Florida State
1969: Jerry Levias, SMU
1970: Terry Bradshaw, Louisiana Tech
1971: J. D. Hill, Arizona State
1972: Pat Sullivan, Auburn
1973: Chuck Foreman, Miami (FL)
1974: Bill Kollar, Montana State
1975: Steve Bartkowski, California
1976: Craig Penrose, San Diego State
1977: Tommy Kramer, Rice
1978: James Lofton, Stanford
1979: Willie Jones, Florida State
1980: Marc Wilson, Brigham Young
1981: Neil Lomax, Portland State
1982: John Fourcade/Steve Clark, Ole Miss/Utah
1983: Dan Marino/Terry Kinard, Pittsburgh/Clemson
1984: Walter Lewis/Doug Smith, Alabama/Auburn
1985: Paul Ott Carruth, Alabama
1986: Napoleon McCallum, Navy
1987: Don Smith, Mississippi State
1988: Thurman Thomas, Oklahoma State
1989: Cleveland Gary, Miami (FL)
1990: Blair Thomas, Penn State
1991: Alvin Harper, Tennessee
1992: Tony Smith, Southern Miss
1993: Eric Hunter, Purdue
1994: Stan White, Auburn
1995: Derrick Brooks, Florida State
1996: Bobby Hoying, Ohio State
1997: Pat Barnes, California
1998: Dameyune ,CraigAuburn
1999: Cade McNown, UCLA
2000: Chad Pennington, Marshall
2001: LaDainian Tomlinson, TCU
2002: Antwaan Randle El, Indiana
2003: Larry Johnson, Penn State
2004: Philip Rivers, NC State
2005: Charlie Frye, Akron
2006: Sinorice Moss, Miami (FL)
2007: Tony Hunt, Penn State
2008: Matt Forte, Tulane
2009: Pat White, West Virginia
2010: Brandon Graham, Michigan
2011: Christian Ponder, Florida State
2012: Isaiah Pead, Cincinnati

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. College Football
  4. Bowl Games
  5. Senior Bowl MVPs - MVPs of the Senior Bowl

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.