1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

College Football's BCS National Champions


LSU Ohio State

LSU knocked off Ohio State to win the 2007 BCS Championship.

(Chris Graythen/Getty Images)
The Bowl Championship Series was created in 1998 to match college football’s No. 1 team against its No. 2 team for the national championship.

The system hasn’t always worked perfectly, though there’s no denying that it’s done exactly what it promised: Decide the national championship on the field.

Below is the list of each of the college football’s BCS-era national champions:

1998: Tennessee

1999: Florida State

2000: Oklahoma

2001: Miami (Florida)

2002: Ohio State

2003: LSU

2004: USC

2005: Texas

2006: Florida

2007: LSU

2008: Florida

2009: Alabama

2010: Auburn

2011: Alabama

2012: Alabama

2013: Florida State

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. College Football
  4. National Champions
  5. College Football's BCS National Champions

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.